DJ Mary Turner, Tom Rounds Among Radio Hall of Fame’s 2023 Legends of Radio Inductees (Full List)

today10/09/2023 1

share close

On-air personalities Mary Turner, Bob Grant, Jack “The Rapper” Gibson, Long John Nebel and Terry Dorsey are among 12 radio professionals who will receive the Legends of Radio award from the Radio Hall of Fame. The award recognizes “the talents and efforts of on-air personalities, programmers and operators who contributed with greatness to the radio industry and have since passed away.”  

They will be honored at the 2023 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Nov. 2 at the InterContinental New York Barclay Hotel in New York City. Christopher “Mad Dog” Russo, a 2022 Radio Hall of Fame inductee, will MC the event.


“It’s heartfelt recognition to see these individuals and their career contributions to the radio industry recognized with this induction,” Kraig T. Kitchin, co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, said in a statement. “They’ve made a forever impact on the audiences and businesses they interacted with and for that, we’re grateful.” 

Dennis Green, the other co-chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, added: “Gone but never forgotten, these Legends of the radio industry deserve to be recognized as Hall of Famers and it is an honor to induct them to the Radio Hall of Fame. From programmers to talent to executives, these individuals are the best of the best.” 

Another of this year’s Legends of Radio honorees, Tom Rounds, co-founded Watermark Inc., the syndication company responsible for American Top 40, American Country Countdown and other shows. By coincidence, Shadoe Stevens, who succeeded Casey Kasem as host of American Top 40 in 1988, is one of eight inductees into the Radio Hall of Fame this year.

This year’s seven other Radio Hall of Fame honorees are: John DeBella (WMGK-FM, Philadelphia), Gerry House (WSIX-FM, Nashville), Pat St. John (60s Gold, SiriusXM), Bob Rivers (The Bob Rivers Show), Nina Totenberg (National Public Radio), Deborah Parenti (publisher, Radio Ink) and Charles Warfield (executive).

Here are this year’s recipients of the Legends of Radio award: 

Bob Grant – on-air personality 

Dave Robbins – programming executive 

Ed Christian – executive 

Eduardo Caballero – executive 

Jack “The Rapper” Gibson – on-air personality/writer 

Joe “Butterball” Tamburro – programming executive 

Long John Nebel – on-air personality 

Marty Glickman – play-by-play host/executive 

Mary Turner – on-air personality 

Steve Rivers – programming executive 

Terry Dorsey – on-air personality 

Tom Rounds – executive 

Written by:

Rate it

Previous post


YouTuber Who Defamed Cardi B Can’t Dodge Most of $4M Judgment Via Bankruptcy

Two years after Cardi B won a nearly $4 million defamation verdict against a YouTube host named Tasha K over her salacious lies about drug use, STDs and prostitution, a federal judge has ruled that the gossip blogger cannot avoid paying most of the judgment through Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Tasha, who filed for bankruptcy in a May petition that said she had less than $60,000 in assets, will not be able to “discharge” $3.4 million owed to Cardi via the […]

today10/09/2023 2

Similar posts

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *